作者如何帮助其他作者提高图书销量

在作为自由撰稿人为其他公司撰写了数千篇博客帖子之后,Bryan Cohen 于 2010 年通过 Kindle 自助出版 (KDP) 转身投向了自助出版领域。虽然他自己的书也已经卖出了超过 14 万册,但他最大的成就是帮助其他作者卖出了更多的书。

值得的挑战

Cohen 非常高兴能看到这样的成功故事,并了解到作者如何根据他的策略做出数百个细小的改进。

Cohen 说:“有人可能会害怕广告。”“但是,当您只关注版税和广告花费等基本数据时,事情就会简单多了。”

每个季度,Cohen 都会与他的其他成功作者团队举办为期 5 天的免费广告收益挑战赛。这一免费活动提供实时支持、数小时富有吸引力的视频演练以及鼓舞人心的指导,帮助作者取得成功。

如需进一步了解,请注册 Bryan Cohen 的下一场亚马逊广告收益挑战赛。另外,您还可以进一步了解适用于作者的亚马逊广告

在作者社区分享经验

Cohen 奉行“保留 90% 所教信息*”的准则,在与作者社区分享有效的方法之前,他在自己的书中测试了数十种营销方法。

Cohen 感叹道:“在这个过程中我经历了很多次失败。”“但偶尔我也会看到一些闪光点,并且想知道它们是否适用于所有类型的作者。当亚马逊广告于 2016 年面向 KDP 作者推出时,它似乎就具备这种确切的潜力。” 自 2016 年推出亚马逊广告以来,部分站点中的传统出版作者也可使用亚马逊广告。

打造图书销售试验场地

每天都有上千本书出版,Cohen 知道作者不能依靠图书本身来推销自己。

他表示:“如果我们能在亚马逊上查看我们的书有多少潜在读者,那么我们就能知道这本书是否有盈利的机会。”

Cohen 在 2016 年底开始通过亚马逊广告来投放广告活动,并使用广告中的相关数据来证明,他的部分书籍所赚取的版税足以支付广告花费。例如,Cohen 发现他的童话选集《Once Upon a Happy Ending》每投入 $1 的广告花费就能赚取 $3 的版税,最终产生了超过 $21,000 的版税和超过一千万页的阅读量。

查看整张照片

开始在亚马逊上投放广告后,Cohen 发现他的图书目录和文案代理机构 Best Page Forward 的品牌知名度开始提高,该机构的年收入增长到了六位数。然而,过去的 Cohen 很难判断他的书卖得更好是因为广告还是因为他的知名度提升。

“所以,我开始试着简化这个过程: 如果某本书或系列赚取的版税超过我花费的金额,我就会继续投放这些广告。”Cohen 说,“当这个策略开始大范围发挥作用时,我想测试一下,看看其他作者是否也会获得同样(或者更好的)结果。”

2019 年 9 月,Cohen 开始组织 1,600 名作者,通过免费在线培训来分享他的方法。这个季度社区课程的规模现已发展到拥有超 8,000 名参与者,并且有经验丰富的广告主团队帮助支持作者的每一步操作。

选择目标并做出正确选择

舒逸推理作家 Trixie Silvertale 曾尝试用不同的笔名创作不同体裁的作品,但她一个月内最多能赚 $200。由于她的目标是赚取更高的版税,因此她同时采取了两种策略:面向需求更大的受众写作,以及使用 Cohen 的广告方法,通过亚马逊广告来投放广告活动。Silvertale 以近乎疯狂的速度进行创作,而她的合作伙伴则创建了数十个广告活动,吸引新读者阅读她的系列小说。

Silvertale 表示:“在 18 个月内,我们的版税从每月 $200 增长到了每月超过 $11,000。”“而我们读者群体增长的头号功臣就是亚马逊广告。”

成功的窍门

浪漫悬疑作家 Ayden K. Morgan 最近达到了每月 $500 版税的新里程碑,但在计算了广告花费后,她的实际收入接近于零。在为期 5 天的广告收益挑战赛上了解 Cohen 的方法后,Morgan 开始钻研资料,并且实现了每月版税跃升至 $1,000 以上的盈利。在坚定实施这个方法后,Morgan 意识到,她需要更改一些存书的封面,使它们能更有效地进行推广。

Morgan 叹道:“到年底时,我们的版税从每月 $500 增加到了每月 $15,000。”“我从来没想过我会学到这么多东西,或者我可以把自己的所学运用得如此娴熟。”

加倍投资高效方法

非小说类金融作家 Anna Coulling 已经达到了成功的高标准,她售出过数万本书,每月版税可稳定达到 $8,000。Coulling 和她的丈夫尝试过其他营销方法,但他们发现广告花费太高了,难以维持。在尝试了 Cohen 的策略后,他们很快就看到版税有所增加,并加倍努力地在国际亚马逊广告网站上投放广告,同时在英国开展广告活动。

Coulling 表示:“我们的版税刚刚达到了每月 $23,000。”“Bryan 的广告方法确实为我们的书打开了令人难以置信的全新可能性。”

*《高效人士的 7 个习惯》(The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People),作者:Stephen Covey

How a KDP author helps other writers increase their book sales

After writing thousands of blog posts for other companies as a freelance copywriter, Bryan Cohen pivoted into self-publishing through Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) in 2010. While he's sold over 140,000 copies of his own books, he's made his biggest mark helping other authors sell significantly more copies of theirs.

Sharing learnings with the author community

Applying the maxim that you retain 90% of the information you teach*, Cohen tested dozens of marketing methods on his own books before sharing what worked with the author community.

"There were plenty of failures along the way," says Cohen. "But every so often I'd see a glimmer of something and wonder if it could work for all authors in any genre. When Amazon Advertising launched for KDP authors in 2016, it seemed to have that exact potential."

Creating a testing ground for book sales

With thousands of books published on Amazon every single day, Cohen knew that authors couldn't rely on their books to sell themselves.

"If only we could see how many potential readers made it to our book on Amazon, then we could figure out if the book had a chance for profit," he says.

Cohen started running campaigns through Amazon Advertising in late 2016 and used the data from his ads to show that some of his books would earn more than enough royalties to cover the ad spend. For example, Cohen found that his fairy tale anthology Once Upon a Happy Ending would earn $3 in royalties for each $1 in ad spend, eventually yielding over $21,000 in royalties and over 10 million pages read.

Looking at the whole picture

Once Cohen started advertising on Amazon, he began seeing greater brand recognition for both his catalog of books and his copywriting agency, Best Page Forward, whose revenue grew to six figures, annually. However, Cohen had a harder time telling whether he was selling more books due to the ads or his higher profile.

“So I started trying to make it simpler: If a certain book or series made more royalties than the amount I spent, I kept running those ads," Cohen says. “And when this strategy started working in a big way, I wanted to test it to see if other authors had the same (or better) results."

Starting with a group of 1,600 authors in September 2019, Cohen shared his methods through his free online trainings. The quarterly community classes have now grown to over 8,000 participants with a team of experienced advertisers helping to support authors every step of the way.

Choosing a goal and making the right choices

Cozy mystery author Trixie Silvertale had tried writing in multiple genres under different pen names, but the most she'd ever been able to earn in a single month was $200. Since her goal was to earn significantly higher royalties, she pursued two strategies at once: writing to an audience with more demand and running campaigns through Amazon Advertising with Cohen's ad methods. Silvertale wrote at a feverish pace while her partner set up dozens of campaigns to bring new readers into her series.

"Within 18 months, we went from $200 a month to over $11,000 a month in royalties," Silvertale said. "And the #1 thing growing our readership was Amazon Advertising."

Playing the game of success

Romantic suspense author Ayden K. Morgan had recently hit a new monthly milestone of $500 in royalties per month, but when she calculated her ad spend her actual earnings were close to zero. After hearing about Cohen's methods through his 5-Day Amazon Ad Profit Challenge, Morgan dove into the material headfirst and saw her royalties jump to a profitable $1,000+ per month. With the method firmly in place, Morgan realized that she needed to change out the covers of some of her backlist titles to make them more effective for advertising.

"By year's end, we'd gone from $500 a month to $15,000 a month in royalties," Morgan says. "I never dreamed that I would learn so much or that I could do so well with what I learned."

Doubling down on what works

Nonfiction finance author Anna Coulling had already reached a high benchmark of success with tens of thousands of books sold and a steady $8,000 per month in royalties. Coulling and her husband had tried other marketing approaches but found the ad spend too high to sustain. When they attempted Cohen's strategy, they quickly saw their royalties rise and doubled down on their efforts using ads on international Amazon Advertising sites with campaigns in the United Kingdom.

"We just hit $23,000 a month in royalties," Coulling says. "Bryan's ad methods really opened us up to incredible new possibilities for our books."

A worthwhile challenge

Cohen's been overjoyed to see success stories like these, and learn about how authors have developed hundreds of smaller improvements based on his strategies.

"Advertising can be scary," Cohen says. "But when you focus on only the essential numbers like royalties and ad spend, it becomes a whole lot simpler."

Each quarter, Cohen and his team of other successful authors run the free 5-Day Amazon Ad Profit Challenge. The free event offers live support, hours of engaging video walkthroughs, and encouraging instruction to help authors find success.

To learn more, register to sign up for the next Amazon Ad Profit Challenge with Bryan Cohen. Plus, learn more about Amazon Advertising for KDP authors.

*The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey