FAQ

We’re closely monitoring the developments of COVID-19 and its impact on our employees, customers, partners, and communities. We’ve created this resource to help answer some of your frequently asked questions.

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What are some of the changes Amazon has made due to COVID-19?

For a list of updates and what we’re doing to support our employees, partners, customers, and communities, please refer to The Amazon Blog: Day One.

I’m concerned about my inventory levels. Should I pause my sponsored ads campaigns?

In the US and EU, sellers can use the Restock Inventory page and Restock report in Seller Central to check which products are eligible for FBA replenishment. If you have a Vendor Manager, please reach out to them for more assistance.

Sponsored ads campaigns pause automatically if promoted items go out of stock—no action is needed on your part. Here’s more detailed information on how each product works in out-of-stock situations:

  • Sponsored Products ads are shown if the promoted product is also the featured offer on the product detail page. The ads will appear so long as that product can be purchased. If the
    product is out of stock and not the featured offer, the ads won’t display but will automatically resume when the product is back in stock and available for purchase.
  • Display ads automatically pause when the promoted products go out of stock. When the products are back in stock, your campaigns will automatically resume as long as they are still active.
  • For Sponsored Brands campaigns linking to a product list page with less than two in-stock products, the campaign will automatically pause. For campaigns linking to a Store, the campaign will continue to run regardless of inventory levels. With Stores, you can feature your full product selection in your own branded destination on Amazon, which may help you be less reliant on inventory levels of specific products in your catalog. Featured deals, best sellers, and recommended products content tiles will automatically hide out-of-stock products, as will product grid tiles using the automated option. For product grid tiles using the manual option, as well as full-size product tiles with the product detail option, you can select to have out-of-stock products hidden from your Store. Simply choose this option when editing specific pages or sections of your Store, then submit your Store for publishing for your changes to apply.
Should I take any action on my display, video, custom ads, or Amazon DSP campaigns if my inventory is low?

We recommend reaching out to your Amazon representative to discuss inventory levels and develop an action plan for your campaigns.

What happens if products in my Store go out of stock?

Stores offer various section and content tile types that display products and their information. This is how content tiles perform in out-of-stock situations:

  • Featured deals, best sellers, and recommended products tiles, which automatically source relevant products from your catalog to display in your Store, will hide out-of-stock products. Additionally, product grid tiles using the automated option will hide your out-of-stock products.
  • Product grid tiles using the manual option, as well as full-width product tiles with the product detail layout option, will continue displaying, but will exclude information such as price and Prime eligibility. Shoppers will be able to see the product images, click on the products, and go to their detail pages. With these tiles, you can also choose to manually suppress out-of-stock products from displaying. Simply choose this option when editing specific pages or sections of your Store, then submit your Store for publishing for your changes to apply.
What are my options for fulfilling products directly?

Sellers can use Merchant Fulfilled Network (MFN) to use their own resources to fulfill an Amazon order. You can find additional information here. Vendors can talk with their vendor managers about Direct Fulfillment.

Some of the products in my campaigns currently have longer delivery times. Do I need to make any changes to my campaigns?

If you have longer delivery times, here are some tips to optimize your campaign performance:

  • Sponsored Products: Select ‘dynamic bids - down only’ or ‘dynamic bids - up and down’, as these bidding strategies will take into account any changes in conversion rate and adjust your bid accordingly. Fixed bids will not adjust automatically—you will need to manually change them.
  • Sponsored Display: Bidding on Sponsored Display is dynamic, so bids adjust automatically taking into account the likelihood of conversion. You may reallocate budget towards products that are generating most sales.
  • Sponsored Brands: Evaluate which keyword and/or product targeting strategies are working for your business. You can increase bids for the strategies that are driving conversions, and reduce bids for strategies that are under-performing. Learn more about targeting strategies for your campaigns.
  • If your catalog includes digital products like books, music, or software, include ASINs for the digital formats of your products in your campaigns to help engage shoppers with items that are immediately available.
Are there keywords I shouldn’t use in my sponsored ads campaigns right now?

In response to COVID-19, we’ve restricted advertising at this time on keywords related to some protective equipment. You should continue to choose relevant keywords for your products.

How can I help manage my advertising cost of sales (ACOS) for my sponsored ads campaigns right now?

Monitor your ACOS to make sure it stays on track with your business goals. Here are some strategies that can help control your spend:

  • For Sponsored Products campaigns, use ‘dynamic bids - down only’ or ‘dynamic bids - up and down.’ When you select either of these bidding strategies, Amazon will automatically lower your bid in real time when your ad may be less likely to convert to a sale. We recommend using these strategies over fixed bids during this time.
  • For your Sponsored Products and Sponsored Brands campaigns, evaluate which keyword and/or product targeting strategies are working. As always, you can increase bids for the strategies that are driving conversions, and reduce bids for strategies that are under-performing. Learn more about targeting strategies for your campaigns.
  • With Sponsored Products and Sponsored Brands, you can use negative targeting to remove products that don’t drive clicks or sales.
How can I help manage my return on ad spend (ROAS) for my DSP campaigns right now?

Here are some things to keep in mind for managing DSP ROAS:

  • Automatic optimization adjusts your bids, budget allocations, and pacing based on changes in conversion rates and KPIs you’ve set.
  • Use the audience segmentation report to view performance by audience segment for a given campaign. You can add audiences that are driving conversions, and remove those that are under-performing.
  • Use the custom report template to review performance across various campaign and line item parameters such as inventory. You can use these insights to adjust your targeting settings accordingly.
Does Amazon Advertising offer other ways to help my business during this time?

If you’re a vendor or a seller enrolled in Amazon Brand Registry, you can use these free self-service products below to communicate your brand message and increase your connection with potential customers.

  • Stores: This free solution lets you create a dedicated destination for your brand on Amazon, and helps shoppers discover your brand’s product selection. Stores are easy to build and update, and display on mobile and desktop without any additional work. You can link Sponsored Brands ads and DSP ads to drive traffic to your Store homepage or specific sub-pages
  • Posts (US beta): Posts is a new free browse and discovery experience on Amazon focused on brand shopping. Posts help shoppers discover new products and see what’s new from brands by browsing feeds of brand-curated content. They link to product detail pages, making each post in a feed shoppable, and each post includes category tags so shoppers can continue exploring posts in related categories. To participate in Posts beta, you must have a US Store.
  • Amazon Live: Engage with shoppers in real time with interactive livestreams. You can stream for free on the product detail pages of your products, as well as across various placements where Amazon shoppers browse. US vendors as well as sellers enrolled in Amazon Brand Registry can livestream on Amazon.

We also offer a webinar series on beginner to advanced advertising topics to help you learn more.

Do you have recommendations on how to manage my budget for sponsored ads campaigns?

Here are some tips for managing your budget and bids as you create and optimize campaigns:

  • Use a daily budget for your campaigns—the amount you’re willing to spend on a given campaign each day. You can adjust your budget at any time.
  • You can also consider using portfolios, a feature that lets you organize your campaigns by brand, business line, product category, or seasonal events. With this, you have the option to set a budget cap across all campaigns that comprise your portfolio, helping you manage the total spend of those campaigns. With portfolios, you can choose a recurring monthly budget cap or set a budget cap by date range
  • Choose ‘dynamic bids - down only’ or ‘dynamic bids - up and down’ for your Sponsored Products campaigns. When you select either of these bidding strategies, Amazon will automatically lower your bid in real time when your ad may be less likely to convert to a sale. Learn more about dynamic bidding strategies.
  • When setting bids for your Sponsored Brands campaigns, refer to the suggested bid and bid range feature. This provides an estimate of bids that have been used by other advertisers for products like yours, and can help you set bids that align with your needs and goals.
How can I manage fluctuations to my campaign metrics?

During this time, your metrics may vary from what you’ve typically observed, due to Amazon prioritizing high-demand products in our fulfillment centers. The following tips can help you manage your campaigns:

  • For all ad products, monitor your seven-day performance closely so you can optimize your campaigns based on recent trends.
  • For Sponsored Products campaigns, consider using ‘dynamic bids - down only’ or ‘dynamic bids - up and down.’ These bidding strategies lower your bid in real time when your ad may be less likely to convert to a sale.
  • For your Sponsored Products and Sponsored Brands campaigns, evaluate which keyword and/or product targeting strategies are driving conversions for you. Consider increasing bids for those strategies and reducing bids for strategies that are under-performing.
  • With Sponsored Display, your bids adjust automatically based on the likelihood of conversion. Consider reallocating budget towards products generating most sales.
If some of my products are out of stock or experiencing longer delivery times, how can I present more options from my brand to shoppers?

Consider using Sponsored Brands, a cost-per-click solution for vendors and sellers enrolled in Amazon Brand Registry, to create more visibility for other products in your catalog. This ad type allows you to showcase multiple products from your selection, helping you present additional or alternative purchase options to shoppers. You can also link your Sponsored Brands campaign to your Store, a free, self-service destination for your brand, to help shoppers discover your entire catalog.

What happens if products in your Sponsored Brands campaigns go out of stock? For campaigns linking to a product list page with less than two in-stock products, the campaign will automatically pause. For campaigns linking to a Store, the campaign will continue to run regardless of inventory levels.

What is Amazon Advertising?

Amazon Advertising offers a range of options to help you achieve your advertising goals to registered sellers, vendors, book vendors, Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) authors, app developers and/or agencies (refer to each product's page for eligibility criteria).

How does Amazon Advertising work?

To get started with self-service advertising products, including Sponsored Products, Sponsored Brands, Sponsored Display and Stores, visit the Register page and choose one of the options to enrol.

Display ads, video ads and ads run through the Amazon DSP can be managed independently or with an Amazon Advertising consultant. Contact us to get started.

What is the difference between a seller and a vendor on Amazon?

Sellers sell products directly to Amazon customers. If you manage your products in Seller Central, you’re a seller.

Vendors sell their items directly to Amazon, who then sells them to customers. If you manage your products in Vendor Central, you’re a vendor.

What is CPC (cost-per-click) or PPC (pay-per-click) advertising, and how do I use it?

CPC or PPC advertising is a type of paid advertising where ads display at no charge – ad impressions, or views, are free – and the advertiser is only charged when a customer clicks the ad. Sponsored ads – such as Sponsored Products and Sponsored Brands – run on the CPC model.

What is CPM (cost-per-thousand-impressions [technically, "cost per mille"]) advertising, and how do I use it?

CPM advertising is a type of paid advertising where you are charged a certain price for every 1,000 impressions of your ads.

What is display advertising?

Display ads are banners or images that appear on websites. Display advertising is available through Sponsored Display or Amazon DSP.

How much does Amazon Advertising cost?
  • Sponsored ads are cost-per-click ads, meaning you pay only when customers click your ad, and you control your campaign budget.
  • The cost of display ad and video ad campaigns can vary depending on format and placement.
  • Audio ads are sold on a CPM basis.
  • Advertising through a managed-service option with an Amazon Advertising consultant (display ads, video ads and ads that are run through the Amazon DSP) typically require a minimum spend of $35,000 (US). Contact a sales consultant for more information.
  • You can create a Store for free.
What are keywords?

A keyword is a single word or combination of words that you add to your Sponsored Products and Sponsored Brands campaigns. Keywords are matched to shopping queries that customers use to look for products on Amazon and determine when your ads may appear. Note that keywords are only used for Sponsored Products or Sponsored Brands. Sponsored Display ads reach products, product categories or customers' interests.

How can I do keyword research for my Amazon Advertising campaigns?

To start, we recommend using the suggested keywords when creating your campaigns. Sponsored Products campaigns may use automatic targeting, which selects relevant keywords automatically.
Once your automatic campaign is running, you can check your advertising reports to see which keywords are resulting in ad clicks and sales. You can use the top-performing keywords to create a Sponsored Brands campaign or a Sponsored Products campaign with manual targeting, where you select keywords to target and set individual bids for them.

How do I make my keywords relevant to my product?

Make sure that your keywords reference metadata contained on your advertised product’s detail pages. For example, an ad will not receive impressions for the keyword “beach towels” if the campaign contains only bath towel products.

What are Stores on Amazon?

Stores are a multi-page, immersive shopping experience on Amazon that allow you to showcase your brand and products. Creating a Store is free and doesn't require any web development skills. Easily create custom layouts with rich multimedia content by using drag-and-drop tiles or pre-designed templates.

Where do Stores appear?

Stores appear on the Amazon website on mobile, app and desktop.

Who can create a Store?

Stores are available for sellers who are registered in Amazon Brand Registry, vendors and agencies representing vendors. You do not need to advertise on Amazon to create a Store, but you must be selling products on Amazon. Amazon DSP customers can also create a Store but must have an advertising console account in addition to their Amazon DSP account.

How do I enrol my brand?

You must have a registered and active trademark submitted and approved by Amazon. Learn more about enrolling your brand in Amazon Brand Registry. Only sellers must enrol in Amazon Brand Registry – vendors do not need to enrol.

Why should I create a Store?

Building a Store helps drive shopping engagement, with a curated destination for customers to not only shop your products but also learn more about your brand.

Key features include:

  • Unique design: Choose from a selection of design templates with varying store layouts and customizable features to best showcase your brand.
  • Custom curation: Feature a dynamic or handpicked assortment of products along with optional multimedia content to enhance the customer shopping experience.
  • Integrated promotion: Use built-in social features like social sharing buttons, coupled with promotional extensions such as Sponsored Brands, to drive store awareness and traffic.
How much do Stores cost?

Creating a Store is free.

How can I measure the performance of my Store?

The Stores insights dashboard provides you with daily and aggregate views of your Store's performance. Metrics by traffic source and by page are available, including:

  • Daily visitors: Total unique users or devices that viewed one or more pages on your Store in a single day.
  • Views: Number of page views during this time period. Includes repeat views.
  • Sales: Estimated total sales generated by Store visitors within 14 days of their last visit. Units and sales data are only available as of 25 December 2017.
  • Units sold: Estimated total units purchased by store visitors within 14 days of their last visit.
  • Views/visitor: Average number of unique pages viewed by a daily visitor to your Store.

You can access analytics from the store builder, or from the Stores main page.

How long does it take to create a Store?

The time it takes to create a Store depends on what you would like to create. We’ve provided you with templates and tiles to make it easy to create pages quickly without design expertise. Before your Store can be published, we review it using a moderation process to make sure that it is up to the high standards we set for the customer shopping experience across Amazon. Keep in mind that moderation will take up to 72 hours, and your Store may be rejected if it does not meet our content acceptance policy. So plan ahead and publish your Store with plenty of time before major sales, deals or holiday events.

Will Stores display on all devices?

Yes. Stores templates and widgets are all designed as responsive. They work on any screen size or device type. To see how your Store will look on mobile or desktop before publishing it, a Preview link is available to you from the Store Builder.

What are display ads?

Display ads, powered by Amazon DSP, are a flexible ad format that you can use to reach your desired audiences on and off Amazon using either Amazon-generated creative or your own.

Where do display ads appear?

Display ads appear on Amazon websites, apps and devices, as well as on sites and apps not owned by Amazon.

Where are customers taken when they click my ads?

Customers may be taken to a product detail page, a Store, a custom landing page or an external website.

Who can use display ads?

Businesses can buy display ads whether or not they sell products on Amazon.

Why should I use display ads?

Display ads help you reach, inspire and reengage customers, with the right message, on and off Amazon.

How much do display ads cost?

Pricing for display ads varies depending on format and placement. Self-service Amazon DSP users can buy and manage their own display campaigns, while those seeking a managed-service option can work with our ad consultants. The managed-service option typically requires a minimum spend of $35,000 (US). Contact a sales consultant for more information.

What are video ads?

Video ads combine sight, sound, and motion to share your brand story and engage your audience on and off Amazon.

What are over-the-top (OTT) video ads?

Over-the-top (OTT) video ads are video ads that appear before, during, or after OTT video content. These ads cannot always be skipped and therefore are typically viewed until completion of the ad.

Where do OTT video ads appear?

Amazon OTT video ads appear alongside content on connected TVs, publisher channels and networks, IMDb, and IMDb TV.

What are out-stream video ads?

Out-stream video ads are video ads that appear outside of video content, such as on a website or app. They often appear on a web page in the space reserved for a display ad.

Where do out-stream video ads appear?

Out-stream video ads appear both on Amazon subsidiaries like IMDb and across the web as standalone videos on desktop, mobile, or tablet. Formats include in-feed video, in-article/in-read video, video in-banner, and interstitial video.

Where are customers taken when they click my ads?

For video ads that can be clicked, then the customer can be taken to a product page on Amazon, your own website or another destination across the internet.

Who can use video ads?

Businesses can buy video ads whether or not they sell products on Amazon.

Why should I use video ads?

Video ads empower you to tell stories and make emotional connections with customers throughout their decision journeys. They can inspire customers to consider your products by telling your brand’s story in trusted environments on Amazon sites, apps, devices and third-party sites.

How much do video ads cost?

Pricing for video ads varies depending on format and placement. Self-service Amazon DSP users can buy and manage their own video campaigns, while those seeking a managed-service option can work with our ad consultants. The managed-service option typically requires a minimum spend of $35,000 (US). Contact a sales consultant for more information.

What are audio ads?

Amazon audio ads are ads between 10 and 30 seconds long that play periodically in breaks between songs on Amazon Music's free ad-supported tier.

Where do audio ads play?

Audio ads are played on the free tier of Amazon Music across Alexa-enabled devices, including Echo and Fire TV, as well as on mobile and desktop.

Who can use audio ads?

Businesses can buy audio ads whether or not they sell products on Amazon.

Why should I use audio ads?

Amazon audio ads help you connect with audiences wherever they are listening to the free tier of Amazon Music, even if they aren't watching their screens.

How much do audio ads cost?

Audio ads are sold on a CPM (cost-per-thousand impressions) basis. They typically require a minimum spend of $25,000 (US). Contact an Amazon Advertising account executive for more information.

Is there a visual component in audio ads?

Advertisers can provide a companion banner for their audio ads, which appears on Echo Show devices, Fire TV, and in the Amazon Music app and webplayer on mobile and desktop. Companion banners are clickable in the Amazon Music app and webplayer.

What is Amazon DSP (demand-side platform)?

Amazon DSP is a demand-side platform that allows advertisers and agencies to programmatically reach audiences across the web.

What is a DSP (demand-side platform)?

A demand-side platform is software that provides automated, centralized media buying from multiple sources.

What is programmatic advertising?

Programmatic advertising is the automated buying and selling of digital advertising inventory. Advertising inventory is the space for ads on a given website.

What ads can I buy through Amazon DSP?

You can purchase display ads and video ads using Amazon DSP.

Where will ads that I buy through Amazon DSP appear?

Amazon DSP programmatically delivers ads across our owned-and-operated sites and apps such as Amazon.com and IMDb. Additionally, advertisers have access to direct inventory from leading publisher sites through Amazon Publisher Services, as well as large third-party exchanges. This inventory includes high-quality sites on desktop and mobile web display, mobile app and video pre-roll.

Where are customers taken when they click my ads?

Display ads take customers to a product detail page, a Store, a custom landing page or an external website. For video ads that can be clicked, the customer can be taken to a product detail page on Amazon, your own website or another destination across the internet.

Who can use Amazon DSP?

Amazon DSP is available to both advertisers who sell products on Amazon and those who do not. Amazon DSP is best suited to advertisers who want to programmatically buy display and video ads at scale.

Why should I use the Amazon DSP?

Advertisers can enhance their reach by leveraging their existing audience using pixels, data management platforms (DMP) or advertiser-hashed audiences. In doing so, advertisers can deliver and optimize relevant ads to the same audiences across devices and ad formats to help drive greater relevance and improve campaign performance.

How much does it cost to use Amazon DSP?

Pricing for ads through Amazon DSP varies depending on format and placement. Self-service customers are in full control of their campaigns, and there are no management fees. The managed-service option typically requires a minimum spend of $35,000 (US). Contact a sales consultant for more information.

How do I use Amazon DSP?

Self-service and managed-service options are available with Amazon DSP. Self-service customers are in full control of their campaigns, and there are no management fees. The managed-service option is a great solution for companies that want access to Amazon DSP inventory with white glove service or those with limited programmatic experience. To register for Amazon DSP, contact an Amazon ad consultant.

What are impressions?

Impressions are the total number of times your ad was displayed.

What are clicks?

Clicks are the number of times your ad was clicked.

What is click-through rate (CTR)?

Click-through rate is the total clicks divided by the total impressions.

What is attribution?

Attribution is the assigning of credit to an ad that a customer was exposed to before taking a desired action, such as a purchase. We use a last-touch attribution model that accounts for various factors, including how the customer interacted with the ad.

What are detail page views?

Detail page views are the number of times customers viewed one of your product detail pages after viewing or clicking your ad.

What is spend?

Spend is the total dollar value of accrued clicks (CPC) or impressions (CPM).

What is advertising cost of sales (ACOS)?

Advertising cost of sales is your total spend divided by your total sales as a percentage. For example, if you spend $5 on ads and generate $25 in sales, your ACOS is 20% – a straightforward measure of your advertising’s profitability. Once you have launched your campaign, you can view all reports on the reporting page.

What is return on ad spend (ROAS)?

Return on ad spend is your total sales divided by your total spend as a percentage.

What kind of reports are available to help measure my return on investment?

Account and campaign reports are available for all ad products. For some ad types, product- and keyword-level reports are available as well.

I don’t have an account

You can create an account by visiting the Register page.

I’m a vendor and my application to advertise was rejected. What happened? What’s next?

Thank you for submitting your application to register for Amazon Advertising. If your application was rejected, you will receive an email outlining the reason for rejection and next steps.

I’m a vendor and you have requested additional information about my application to advertise. How do I provide you with the information requested?

Thank you for submitting your application to register for Amazon Advertising. If we require additional information to process your application, you will receive an email from Amazon Advertising. Please respond to the email with the requested information.

My business has an Amazon Advertising account but I don't have the account details to log in.

To acccess your account, please contact an Amazon ad consultant using our Contact Us form.

I’m interested in display ads, video ads or custom ads? How do I start?
I forgot the password for my advertising console, Amazon DSP console or KDP account.

To retrieve your password, click "Forgot your password?" on the sign-in page.

What are the eligibility requirements for KDP authors to use sponsored ads?

Your books must meet the following criteria to advertise:

  1. Be written in English
  2. Be in eBook format
  3. Be available on Amazon.com
  4. Be published with KDP
  5. Meet the Book Ads Policy
What are the eligibility requirements for book vendors to use sponsored ads?

Your books must meet the following criteria to advertise:

  • Be written in English
  • Be available on Amazon.com
  • Meet the Book Ads Policy
What is the sponsored ads creative approval process for KDP authors and book vendors?

Advertisements must be appropriate for a general audience, be available in the English language, and meet the Book Ads Acceptance Policy for advertising. When you generate creative for your advertisements using the advertising console or KDP dashboard, your book's cover, title and content are part of the advertisement. These and any custom ad images you upload will be reviewed for compliance with the policies.

What are some common reasons for book sponsored ad campaigns being rejected?

Campaigns may be rejected due to poor-quality images or covers, unreadable text, typos in text, content not appropriate for a general audience and content that is not localized for use in the United States.

What is a partner?

A partner is an advertising agency or tool provider who works with Amazon advertisers to manage and optimize campaigns. These campaigns help advertisers achieve business objectives and connect with Amazon audiences in meaningful ways.

How do I find a partner?

If you are interested in working with a partner to support your Amazon Advertising efforts, browse our find-a-partner directory here.

I am already working with a partner. How do I provide feedback on them?

We look forward to hearing about your experience. Please submit feedback here.